Good books, good show

Tess Gerritsen is an amazing author who has published many books in the catetory of homocide mystery. After a recent email exchange with the author I learned that she was once an internal medicine doctor but left the field of medicine to pursue writing full-time. Rock on Tess! Her books have inspired me to take more interest in my pathology lectures and maybe also my anatomy labs. Although I suspect formaldehyde is worse than the stench that Medical Examiners have to put up with…but perhaps I’m wrong.

Gerritsen’s “Jane Rizzoli” series was picked up by TNT back in 2010 and will be coming back for Season 2 in July. I’m so excited! 🙂

http://www.tnt.tv/series/rizzoliandisles/

I love reading novels based on movies or television series or vice-versa and it always makes me feel more connected to either set of characters. Although the writers of the show took artistic license in how the characters look and injected comedy and romance into the bone-chilling, gut-turning plots, the show is heartily enjoyable for a fan of the books.

As much as I love the books I have to admit that I watch the show primarily for the main characters, Detective Jane Rizzoli (Angie Harmon) and Dr. Maura Isles (Sasha Alexander). Okay, maybe more for Sasha Alexander. I mean, come on, just look at that smile she has on her face while admitting to her passion for science. Sexy.

She also goes on to diagnose her date as having Marfan’s Syndrome (an inherited connective tissue disorder that can have devastating neurological and cardiovascular outcomes). The doc may be a classified genius but she’s not so adept at social protocol.

"I like science."

Leave a Reply

